The club was organized by Archie McGee, Dr. Lyle Stanford, Professor John Roblyer, Professor Harold Tucker and Mr. H. Fufii.  Some of the first members were students of the College of Idaho.

We are currently in the process of converting our scrapbooks into a digital format:

The first meeting was held at Sterry Hall on June 10, 1938, for the purpose of organizing a gem and mineral society.

The first officers were:

  • President – J. N. Roblyer
  • Vice President – Archie McGee
  • Secretary -Mary Elizabeth Arnold
  • Field Marshal – Mrs. A. Ballantyne

Regular meetings were to be held the third Friday of each month.  The date of the first meeting was set for June 17th 1938 at Sterry Hall.  The Owyhee Gem and Mineral Society was suggested as the name.

Charter Members:

  • Archie McGee
  • Keane McGee
  • Francis Pickett
  • Professor J. H. Roblyer
  • Edwin Brandt
  • Professor O. J. Smith
  • Mrs. Edna Ballantyne
  • C. O. McDaniel
  • Betty Arnold

Some firsts about the club:

  • Keane McGee was elected as the first chairman for the purpose of the organization.
  • Ed Brandt was issued the first membership card.
  • The first bulletin was printed in February 1968.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.